A New Kind of Ramen

I broke my diet today.  After just watching the documentary “The Beautiful Truth,” I went on a raw diet frenzy, making smoothies for breakfast and eating vegetarian raw meals at night, with the only exception of school lunches.  Everything was going great, until my unbelievably awesome and unique 6th grade after school student, Ha Neul, treated our class to her own culinary specialty, cola ramen (pronounced Ra-mee-yan in Korea.)  This went against every cooking and nutrition principle in my book.

Koreans have a strange obsession with the pre-packaged, salty and spicy instant food that leaves not only your stomach full, but also your wallet.  Under a dollar for a pack and your hunger is satisfied, although your daily sodium and sugar nutritional intake will exceed the limit.  Ramen is usually paired with gimbap (high calorie Korean sushi) and typically you will need a refreshing cola to help wash down the stringy, noodles of synthetic substance.  Now, my brilliant student, Ha Nuel decided that adding the cola directly to the cooking process would enhance the flavor leaving a salty, but sweet aftertaste!  I couldn’t refuse her dish as she offered it to me glowing with pride and self satisfaction from creating what she thought was such a delectable and digestible masterpiece (but I beg to differ). And so today’s afterschool class consisted of conversing about tastes, flavors, smells and creatively coming up with new comestible concoctions, in English, of course.

Next week, chocolate fried chicken is on the burner.  We will see how this ranks compared to the cola infused noodles.  This experiment goes against everything I believe and follow according to my nutritional and dietary lifestyle, but if it gets the kids excited and speaking English, the benefits greatly outweigh the disadvantages.

“Tell me and I’ll forget; show me and I may remember; involve me and I’ll understand”-Chinese Proverb

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jt10s
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 18:00:08

    Cola and ramen? That just sounds pure awful. Did she add the spice packet to it? Now chocolate + chicken is possible. The Mexicans call it Chicken Mole…

    Reply

  2. jeannettenew
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 19:17:23

    wish you guys would stop writing bout food all the time. I’ve had my din dins and now im flaming well hungry again!

    Reply

  3. aunt Janet
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 04:27:10

    Looking forward to your next food review! Chicken and chocolate????
    Aunt Janet

    Reply

    • jojobee6
      Apr 03, 2012 @ 15:44:07

      Unfortunately, my hands on learning idea has been outlawed by the principal due to fire regulations and supervision standards. Back to the book.

      Reply

  4. ~Hermelynda~
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 14:07:58

    Thank you for your visit Jojobee6. You got a smile out of me reading ” Koreans have a strange obsession with the pre-packaged, salty and spicy instant food that leaves not only your stomach full, but also your wallet. Under a dollar for a pack and your hunger is satisfied, although your daily sodium and sugar nutritional intake will exceed the limit.” This is the irony that millions of us need to learn the WILLPOWER to overcome because knowledge is just not enough anymore.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

