Imagine Winter Camp

I had the pleasure of creating an English camp program for my favorite grade 6 students at Moonhye elementary school.  I knew that teaching them about phrases such as “Can you join us,” or “May I help you,” would not make for an exciting winter camp.  I knew these guys were passionate about music and so am I, so I decided to teach them about The Beatles and the theme of the camp was “Imagine.”  We started off camp with a variety of games to get the imagination flowing, such as “If I” and “Would you rather”.  For example, “If I had a million dollars, I would….” and “Would you rather…eat a snake or a spider”.  I introduced the song “Imagine” by John Lennon and we analyzed the lyrics and looked up the vocabulary words in their Korean English dictionary.

After learning about the Beatles, Sam was quite envious of Paul McCartney and yelled out “handsome guy” everytime he appeared in the music videos.  Kevin and Ben thought that John could have done better than Yoko Ono, and thought she looked like a scary monster.  Louis was impressed by the amount of girls that were screaming and yelling as they played “I wanna hold your hand” and responded “lucky band men.”

*On a side note: If any of the students spoke in Korean while in the classroom with me, they would gracefully receive a big, fat, red, penalty sticker from me.  This was probably my highlight of the camp as a teacher to hear the students, even in their free time, chattering away in English.

Day 2 of Imagine camp, we played a competitive game of Steal the Bacon to kick-start the day.  Each child was then given 2 verses of the song “Imagine” to then create a drawing that explained the verse.  We discussed peace and what their image of the word means.  Their interpretation was quite interesting as they described peace being North Korea and South Korea being united and also “Japan and Korea love each other.”  I taught them different signs and symbols of peace, and throughout the day they would throw up the “v” now with a new meaning instead of the”v” they throw up every single time they take pictures.  I then took pictures of their masterpieces and put them together with the song in the background on imovie maker to complete the project.

We continued to learn about The Beatles, John Lennon and music in Day 3 of camp.  I then introduced many other types of genres of music and musicians that represent that genre, i.e. Jazz and Louis Armstrong, Rock n’ roll and Elvis, Reggae and Bob Marley, Classical and Mozart, Heavy Metal and Metallica.  We learned about different sounds and instruments in each genre and played a miming instrument game that had the students on the edge of their seats by the final 2 players.  For the finale, we had kimbap, a Korean style sushi roll, while watching the premiere of “Imagine” that is now broadcasted on Youtube for the students to enjoy!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. denablueline
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 20:33:45

    Thanks for the share, I love it

    Reply

  2. janet
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 01:28:44

    Johanna, what a great way to teach kids the concept of getting along;peace. From their pictures, it was evident that they GOT IT! Looked like you had a classroom of boys.

    Wishing you a blessed New Year with continuing adventures!

    Reply

  3. Nina Malanga
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 21:37:15

    Aww this looks awesome!!!

    Reply

  4. adormidesigns
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 18:44:18

    THIS IS AWESOME!!!!!!! i love it so much!!! it brought tears to my eyes, then made me laugh! i would love to meet Tdragon and the crew…is that guys name REALLY jack sparrow!!?? the kids must love you b/c you put so much effort and love into all your lessons and classes, im so proud of you ms. johanna, you rule!!!!!!!!! i wish you were my teacher growing up! ❤

    Reply

  5. Donna Stewart
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:39:04

    IMAGINE is a favorite word in my family since John first sang it. All my brothers and sisters say it regularly. It means DREAM to me. I have a sign in my living room that hangs above and I repeat it to myself often when sitting in my fav chair. I usually answer myself too! haha. I say “yes I can” sometimes ” No i cant.” I am ever so grateful to my late husband Joe for bringing me to the Vineyard so when I am sitting in my favorite chair in my favorite location (M.V.) I speak out loud and say Thank you! to Joe for bringing me to the Island. Imagine!
    We create our tomorrows by what we dream today.

    Reply

  6. Donna Stewart
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:43:11

    Sitting at my desk with IMAGINE playing loudly and me swaying…with tiny tears…Love the music! haha. Your “kids” are very lucky to have you as their teacher.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

