Dream mode

Photo Shoot

The cold weather is approaching.  Eye lashes freezing.  Feet numb with frost bite from the 10 minute walk home.  Hands and lips chapped with bitter dryness. Temperatures get close to negative 20 degree C.  A direct affect from this viscous, uncomfortable weather is a lack of inspiration.  This is my greatest fear; to have no intellectual, emotional, or spiritual excitement. We might as well be dead right?

As I am a summer baby, I love beach days and basking in the warm sun.  I love the variety of outdoor activities.  I love farmers markets and summer produce.  I love the flowers and green, lush surroundings that last throughout the season.  I love the long days and sun draped nights.  I love the smell of the air after freshly cut grass. And, I will most likely name my child “Summer.”  But, when the summer starts to fade away, something in my brain switches to “dream mode.”  Now this “mode” is annual. Its a mode of extreme curiosity, fused with flustered ideas and melded with manifested hope for inspiration within my heart as the sun hibernates and leaves my side, along with most of mother nature and her friends. Basically, its called extreme cabin fever.  There is nothing I can do about this. It is who I am. And I actually think it’s inherited (ahem, Jeff Wooden).

This mode led me to research about the newest type of holistic healing, sending me on a career changing path, in which I want to get up from my desk, travel to Thailand and start studying Ayurvedic medicine. Since I can’t do that, it led me to fung shuei my house at 1 in the morning in hopes to get the energy flowing while drinking marshmallow root tea, the closest holistic remedy I could get to weight loss with the tunes of my Om yoga mix soothing my soul in the background.

This mode leads me to research about new diets and food trends, sending me on a lifestyle changing path, in which I would give up red meat and go back to my old vegetarian ways.  So, I made enough batches of veggie quinoa and chickpea stirfry to stock my freezer for months and homemade almond milk which was a complete disaster and waste of money. But, at least I won’t be lacking fiber in my diet and will rid the toxins of chemically induced cow meat!

This mode led me to buying a $200 road bike on a whim because I was inspired by a couples blog of riding their bikes together around the world.  The couple had biked first across the US and now they are in Europe on year two.  The farthest I’ve been so far is about 20-30 km’s to the next town Dong Song, but still, it’s a start and a new found hobby for my leisurely enjoyment.

It led me to find the drama and dancing geek inside me, sending me to school an hour early everyday to choreograph a dance routine for the song “Dancing Queen” with selected 3rd and 4th graders, for their school performance at the end of November.  I am no Broadway director, but enjoy the extra time with the girls outside of regular class time and proud of them for their persistence and effort!

And finally it led me to wanting to express myself in another way instead of rambling words and banter.  After perusing through National Geographics top 10 places to see in the world, a little box on the side of the screen was flashing.  It read “Travel with Us” and advertised National Geo photography course and of course was an outrageous amount of money. Since this “dream” of mine was unattainable, well at least at this point in my life, my mode sent me on a path to research photography courses in the closest city to me, Seoul.  I had just bought a new Nikkon D3100 and hadn’t taken it off auto mode since I purchased it, so thought it would be a perfect time to get out, get inspired and get creative.

So, Leah and I joined a group of 7 other beginners in Seoul every Sunday for a month. The photo class was a bit over my head, but all in all it sparked motivation and sent my dream mode into inspiration mode.  Unfortunately, I love to pick the most expensive hobbies, but I can look forward to building my skill and increasing my collection of fun and necessary photography equipment over time to excel and explore this hobby more.  For now, I am testing and trying it out as much as I can with what I have.  Check out some of the studio pictures I took from session 3 class on lighting with models.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“If you don’t go after what you want, you’ll never have it.

If you don’t ask, the answer is always no.

If you don’t step forward, you’re always in the same place.”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Donna Stewart
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 23:58:40

    Hello and Happy Holidays! I love the verse, “if you dont go after what you want” I live by this verse!
    I also purchased a bike (haha) rode it once all summer. I also love to dance and do often with my youngest granddaughter age 3.6 years. I love watching her eyes open so large when she hears her favorite songs. (Putamayo Jazz Playgound) .
    I like your idea about traveling to Thailand to study Ayurvedic medicine. When I read that, I immediately gasped, it sounds so much like me. I swear we are related! haha. I was a vegetarian for 2 years, maybe once or twice a year I eat red meat now. I used to follow recipes from a macrobiotic cookbook too. . Love to you and your family who I hope to see soon! Happy Happy Holidays! Fill us in on the holidays in Korea! (here is a simple saying re: dreams): Love to you! Donna

    If you can dream it, you can do it. Always remember that this whole thing was started with a dream and a mouse.
    – Walt Disney

    Reply

Leave a Reply

